Accessibility Tools

Update: Myrna Driedger, the MLA for Roblin and the Speaker of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly, has also announced that she will not be seeking re-election this year. Driedger made the announcement on her website today.

Driedger is now the eighth current PC MLA who has announced they will not be seeking re-election.


Original Article Below:

Another Progressive Conservative MLA has announced they won't be running in this year's provincial election.

Indigenous Reconciliation and Northern Relations Minister and MLA for Selkirk Alan Lagimodiere made the announcement on Twitter today. In the tweet, Lagimodiere cited family reasons, saying he needs to put his family first.

In the thread, Lagimodiere says that he will work alongside the next PC candidate for Selkirk during the election to ensure they win the riding. He was first elected in Selkirk in 2016 and assumed his role as Minister of Indigenous Reconciliation and Northern Relations in July 2021.

Lagimodiere is the seventh PC MLA to announce they aren't seeking re-election, joining Agassiz MLA Eileen Clarke, and Spruce Woods MLA Cliff Cullen.