The Manitoba government has come to an agreement with Xplornet Communications Inc. to provide more than 125,000 unserved or underserved Manitobans with high-speed internet.

Premier Brian Pallister and Central Services Minister Reg Hewler held a press conference today to announce the agreement.

This will provide broadband services to nearly 30 First Nations, and  270 rural and northern communities in the province.

Communities receiving cellular service include Eriksdale, Peguis,  Fisher Branch, Neepawa,  Riding Mountain, Sandy Lake, Waywayseecappo, Clear Lake, Alonsa, Bowsman,  Dauphin, Erickson, Grandview, Glenella, Minnedosa, Minitonas, McCreary, Ochre River, Ditch Lake, Birtle, Onanole, and more.

A full list of communities receiving services can be found here.