730 CKDM - The Parklands Best



From May 05, 8:00 pm until May 05, 11:00 pm Save to calendar



From driving rhythms and soaring melodies, to brooding synths and dreamy vocal breaks, The Mariachi Ghost fuses traditional Mexican song, progressive rock, and a flair for the dramatic, to ignite the world of their namesake's tenuous existence.

The band was formed in 2009, based on a graphic novel that lead-singer Jorge Requena was writing at the time. In it the principal character struggles to find purpose in a life that has been torn apart by violence and hardship. He eventually turns his anguish outwards, believing to have been ordained by a higher power to punish those that prey on the weak.

Their writing explores the mythos of this justice-seeking Charro. Seven musicians interweave diverse genres and rhythms to create a soundscape that is dramatic, haunting, and explosive. They're joined on stage by dancer and band-mate Alexandra Garrido, who acts as a conduit of the music, expertly assuming its auras of sorrow, reflection, and rage. The result is a rich mixture somewhere between Pink Floyd and a traditional serenata, infused with contemporary dance; a ballet for the dead.

The band released their debut album in November 2013, which has reached radio stations in France, the Netherlands, Australia, and Mexico, while also making its way through the college charts in Canada. The Mariachi Ghost won the award for "Best World Music Album" at the 2014 Western Canadian Music Awards. In 2015, the group released its first music video: a recut short film by acclaimed director Guy Maddin. The band is currently working on their second album which takes inspiration from the seminal work of Mexican literature, Pedro Paramo.


Vocals, Guitar / Jorge Requena
Lead Guitar / Rafael Reyes
Dance, Percussion / Alexandra Garrido
Jarana, Vocals / Gabriel Fields
Bass, Vocals / Adam Kroeker
Drums, Vocals / Ian Mikita
Percussion, Vozarrona, Acc. Guitar, Vocals / Bruce Berven
Keys, Trumpet, Vocals / Tim Friesen

2017-05-05 20:00:00
2017-05-05 23:00:00