Accessibility Tools

A Western Hockey League (WHL) championship is heading back to Russell.

Aiden Ziprick and the Moose Jaw Warriors completed a four-game sweep of the Portland Winterhawks on Wednesday as they were crowned champions of the WHL in front of a sold out crowd at the Moose Jaw Events Centre.

Martin Rysavy scored the first goal of the game for Moose Jaw and the last. Ziprick had one shot in the victory as the Warriors will now advance to the Memorial Cup that begins May 24 in Saginaw. 

Despite the loss, it was still an outstanding season for Ryder Thompson, who became one of the Winterhawks top players on the back end. 

Stay tuned to hear from Aiden in the coming days.