Dauphin, Canada
A special ceremony will take place on Thursday at the legislature to induct the newest members of the Order of Manitoba.
The full list of inductees is as follows,
Rachel Alao, founding executive director and program director of Winnipeg’s Helping Hands Resource Centre for Immigrants Inc., for helping countless newcomers to Canada maximize their potential in a new country
Chad Allan, a rock music icon, for his contributions to the Canadian music industry including the pivotal role he played in the creation of two legendary Winnipeg rock bands: The Guess Who and Bachman-Turner Overdrive
Karen Beaudin, a community resource co-ordinator and proud Manitoba Métis, for increasing support, understanding and respect for Indigenous people in the workforce and her ongoing service to the community
Tom Cochrane, a multi Juno Award-winning musician, for his celebrated accomplishments as a member of Red Ryder and as a solo performer, and his far-reaching humanitarian effort
Dian Cohen, economist, broadcaster and author, for her economic acumen, broadcast excellence and the important role she has played in shaping community strategies and government policies
Wilma Derksen, artist, author and internationally respected expert on the unique needs of victims of serious crime, for her long-standing support and advocacy following the abduction and murder of her daughter, Candace, in 1984
Dan Johnson, the founding executive director of the Manitoba Special Olympics, for championing special-needs athletes and helping Manitoba Special Olympics become a model for Canada
Sheldon Kennedy, well known for his NHL career, but better known for turning the tragedy of a history of sexual abuse into awareness, hope and help for other victims around the world
Donald R. J. Mackey, much-honoured Métis veteran, for ensuring the sacrifices of First Nations and Métis veterans are never forgotten and encouraging inner-city youth through the establishment of the Sgt. Tommy Prince, MM, Royal Canadian Army Cadet Corps
Mitch Podolak, founding artistic director of the Winnipeg Folk Festival, for his contributions to the folk music community, and establishing and promoting music festivals and artistic venues in Manitoba and throughout North America
Monica Khhem Kamarie Singh, a member of the Manitoba Ethnocultural Advocacy and Advisory Council, for actively supporting recent immigrants to Manitoba, especially in areas that help to improve the quality of life of women, their families and communities
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks captain, Stanley Cup victor, and gold-medal winning Olympian, for his tremendous contributions to sport and the community while serving as an exemplary model for Canadian youth
Thursday's ceremony will bring the total number of members in the Order of Manitoba to 210.

Local News

Local Sports